Biology at ANU - the first 50 years

Wednesday 1 February 2017
The Slayter Medal, designed by Stephen Holland. The Medal will be presented for the first time this year.

In 2017, the Research School of Biology celebrates 50 years of Biology at ANU.

Since its founding in 1967, RSB have grown to a school of around 600 people, including academic and professional staff, graduate students and affiliates.

Three separate schools – Botany and Zoology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the Research School of Biological Sciences - merged in 2009 to become the Research School of Biology, with four divisions: Ecology and Evolution, Biomedical Sciences and Biochemistry, Plant Sciences and Biology Teaching and Learning.

A special page has been set up to remember some of the achievements and memorable occasions of the first 50 years, along with some institutional and personal stories and photos.

Updated:  17 July 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director/Page Contact:  Coordinator